





WREN Hub is now live!



Supported by the Tethys knowledgebase (Tethys.pnnl.gov), WREN Hub facilitates international collaboration and advances global understanding of the potential environmental effects of landbased and offshore wind energy development.

As the wind energy industry becomes more established around the world, there are continuing challenges to navigating the siting and permitting processes and evaluating potential environmental risks associated with wind energy. To address these challenges, and ensure that the land-based and offshore wind industries continue to develop in a sustainable and environmentally responsible manner, a better understanding of the potential environmental effects of these industries is needed.

The overall intent of WREN Hub is to provide users access to information and scientific literature related to the environmental effects of wind energy development through the searchable WREN knowledge base. WREN Hub also serves as a catalyst for communication and collaboration for the wind energy community by: hosting an interactive calendar that



lists upcoming meetings, conferences, webinars, and other related events; providing contact information for WREN members and other wind energy professionals; and archiving WREN webinars on current environmental effects research. WREN Hub provides WREN members from participating nations with access to a collaborative work space to develop white papers and other products spanning subjects related to the potential environmental effects of wind energy development.



WREN (Working Together to Resolve Environmental Effects of Wind Energy) is an IEA Wind (International Energy Agency) initiative that was created to address environmental issues associated with commercial development of wind energy iea wind projects. Led by the US with support from the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory,

the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, and the US Department of Energy's Wind and Water Power Technologies Office (WWPTO), there are eight WREN member nations including: Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States.